Le Dessert – Nestum Cereal Cookies

I realized my previous post was like months ago lol so now I’m back to sharing my favorite recipes to you all. So far I haven’t had the time to bake, and also this hot weather in Texas sort of held me back from turning on my oven… it’s too hot!!! but I managed to make something yesterday YAY! it’s this particular cookies, probably can only be found in Malaysia and Singapore – Nestum Cereal Cookies, usually we make them during Chinese New Year.

Nestum cereal is a cereal product made by Nestle Malaysia, the ingredient is wheat, rice and corn (correct me if I’m wrong), usually we feed them to kids – That’s my breakfast every morning when I was growing up 🙂 Other than using it as a breakfast product, this cereal actually smells pretty good! another famous Malaysian dish made from nestum cereal is Butter Nestum Prawn can be found on this website. And so, I was thinking about the cookies for a while… thinking without action… I guess the cookies won’t magically appear unless I starts making it lol

Anyway, this cookie is super easy to make, takes about 1 hour. The texture is wonderful – very crispy and sort of melt in your mouth, kind of like oatmeal cookie but not as rough. Highly recommended, I can’t stop eating and I’m sure little kids will like it too 🙂

Yummy Nestum Cereal Cookies

Nestum Cereal Cookies
Adapted from: A mom to 4 Angels
Recipe:
400g All Purpose Flour
300g Butter, at room temperature
150g Nestum Cereal
4 egg yolks + 1 extra egg yolk for glazing
200g Icing sugar

Method:

  1. Mix egg yolks, butter and icing sugar with mixer until thoroughly incorporated.
  2. Add Nestum cereal and flour a little at a time, and knead to form a dough.
  3. Lined parchment paper on baking tray. Preheat oven to 160 degree Celsius.
  4. Roll small amount of dough into a ball, put it on the tray and flatten using the back of a fork – it can be make into different shape base on your own preference.
  5. Glaze the top of the cookies with egg yolk and bake for 25 minutes or until golden brown. Leave to cool on the wire rack before storing into air-container.
Leave a Reply

