Le Dessert – Salted Caramel Cupcakes

Salted Caramel Cupcake is ready!

I love love caramel! especially Fleur de Sel caramel, I would finish an entire bowl of caramel candy in less than 1 hour lol was craving so much that I have to make some purchase from Calabasas Candy Co. on Etsy regularly. I used to like only traditional caramel, dislike other added flavors. But I fall head over heels for “Fleur de Sel Caramel”, the perfect balance of sweetness and saltiness, I felt like falling in love again (with caramel lol) 😀

Fleur de Sel” – a hand-harvested sea salt from France, when I decided to make this cupcake, there is a slight regret in me – How could I forgot to get some when I was in France? – because it’s super EXPENSIVE in US!!! So I opted for a cheaper imported Mediteranean sea salt, still a bit pricy but way cheaper than Fleur de Sel 😦

Salted Caramel cupcake is commonly made using two different flavors – chocolate or vanilla. I chose to make it in vanilla so I can make use of vanilla beans at home. The cupcake itself is easy, you can use any of your favorite white cake recipes, there is no need to add vanilla beans in the cake. I think the most important part is the icing, I’ve added 1 teaspoon salt and vanilla bean into regular buttercream icing to compliment the sweet caramel. Though this cupcake is fairly easy to make, but required a lot of planning beforehand:

Day 1: Prepare salted caramel sauce, it requires time to cool down.
Day 2: Plan to spend more than 2 hours on the entire process – mixing, baking and decorating.
AND a lot of washing and cleaning too lol

All the ingredients and a little bit of instructions:
Caramel sauce: Use apple corer to hollow the cupcake, and pipe generous amount of caramel into the hole. Recipe here
White Cake: Recipe here
Vanilla Buttercream icing: Just add vanilla bean and a little caramel sauce for extra flavor. Recipe here
Decorative ideas: I get my idea on Pinterest, instead of top it with fondant flower I sprinkle salt on top of the icing.

View from the top.

All the hardwork is so worth it! that is why I love to make cake from scratch, nothing taste better than homemade food. As for my hubby, I think he enjoyed it a lot too 🙂

Filled with homemade caramel sauce… my favorite!!!
Leave a Reply

