Le Dessert Sunday – Banana Yogurt Cake

Banana Yogurt Cake
I wasn’t planning to bake on sunday at all, hot weather made me sleepy, especially after a big lunch. So I took a nap and spent the rest of the day in front of computer -____-||| not productive at all!
But before I went to bed, I started to make plans for Monday – meal, laundry, cleaning, reading…etc. I guess my inner self was calling for sweets, and it’s hard for me to resist since I like sweets so much!!! With two left over banana ripping on the kitchen counter top, I decided to make a banana yogurt cake today, simple and easy.
It is great for afternoon tea, recommend to pair with Earl Grey Tea. I modified the recipe a little to suit my taste – I didn’t make glazing at all, glazing will make the cake more moist though; you can also use different fruits and nuts for this recipe.
Banana Yogurt Cake
(Original Recipe from Here)
Ingredient:
  • 1/2 cups plain yogurt (Plain or Vanilla)
  • 1/2 cup oil
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 cup All purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup ground almond or almond meal
  • 2 tsp Baking Powder
  • 3 Eggs
  • Pinch of Salt
  • 2 Ripe Banana
  1. Optional: Vanilla essence, coffee, rum, jam, nuts, chocolate chips…etc
  2. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. 
  3. Mix together the flour, baking powder, salt and ground almonds. Mashed the banana with a fork.
  4. Add the Sugar, yogurt, eggs to the bowl and whisk vigorously until the mixture is very well blended. Still whisking, stir in the flour, then switch to a large rubber spatula and fold in the oil. Stir in mashed banana. You’ll have a thick, smooth batter with a slight sheen. Scrape the batter into the pan and smooth the top.
  5. Bake 50 to 55 minutes, or until the cake begins to come away from the sides of the pan; it will be golden brown and a knife inserted into the center of the cake will come out clean. Transfer the pan to a rack, cool for 5 minutes, then run a blunt knife between the cake and the sides of the pan. Unmold and cool to room temperature right-side up. 
Leave a Reply

